Tuesday, 2 August 2011

YA Review: Passion (Fallen series)

I was first introduced to the Fallen books in September last year, just before the release of the second book (Torment). I have found the series very exciting to read, however it does come to a point where I want to get to the next chapter.

The Fallen series is about two characters, Luce and Daniel and their goal to be together despite everything in their way. It is a love story tracing through all eternity, where they are bound by a curse that keeps them apart after a period of time. The third book (Passion) is all about their travels back in time to learn to understand their past lives in a bid to unlock the curse that keeps them apart over and over again. In some lives, it is easy to put the pieces to together, but it others it is just as much a mystery to us as it is to Luce.
The interesting thing about the book is Lauren Kate does not only focus on Luce as she travels through time to uncover her fate, but she shows us where Daniel fits in by following him as he follows Luce. You learn much more about Daniel in this book than through the others. Something the majority of the books on the market dont really give you... the guys story.
The book received mixed reviews as alot of readers wanted to know what was going to happen next, instead they were sent back in time. However I think the fact we are sent back in time to learn the history of Luce and Daniel will play a major part in the final book (Rapture) which comes out next year. How we will stay patient to hear what happens next is a whole other story, but I expect alot of action at the start of the next book based on this ending.

My recommendation: 4/5 - Must read if you are into Fallen Angels, YA and romance.


Fallen Series: Book 1: Fallen
                     Book 2: Torment
                     Book 3: Passion
                     Book 4: Rapture - Out in 2012

Release Date: 16th June 2011 (Out Now)
Publisher: Doubleday Childrens
For more info: Authors website

No comments:

Post a Comment